Winbak News


Read below for the latest on Winbak Achievements and graduates.
Stories are from the leading industry news sources.

>Dover, DE --- Anders Bluestone won his fourth straight start at Dover Downs this year with a win in the featured $27,500 Open Handicap trot, while Windshield and I’m So Striking scored impressive victories in two $20,000 Delaware Standardbred Breeders Fund (DSBF) Colt and Gelding trot first leg preliminaries on Wednesday, March 28.

There were no surprises in two $20,000 DSBF colt trot prelims. The Les Givens-conditioned Windshield, already a winner of the last two $100,000 series finals, easily won his season’s debut in 1:59.2, winning for the ninth time in 11 lifetime starts.

The Political Briefing--CR Mimosa colt extended his earnings to $155,299 for co-owner and driver Ross Wolfenden and his partner, Nanticoke Racing. Take Over Payments (Tony Morgan) was next with Left Alone Ranger (Corey Callahan) third.

In the second $20,000 DSBF preliminary, I’m So Striking used his usual come from behind tactics to score a 1:57.4 victory for trainer-driver Eddie Dennis and owners E&K Stable and Lois and Earl Walters.

The win was the second in three starts this year for the So Striking--Ringside Katie homebred and his fourth win in six lifetime races. Bold Strike (Art Stafford, Jr.) was a solid second with Klondike Mike (Justin Vincent) third.

Ross Wolfenden moved Anders Bluestone out of fifth heading to the clubhouse turn and followed the cover of Don’t Know Chip (Vince Copeland) after the half before moving three-wide on the final turn. In the stretch, the Yankee Glide--Annette Hanover 6-year-old chased after the Yannick Gingras--driven Looking Hanover and finally got up at the wire, in 1:54.1. Looking Hanover was in the photograph, finishing second, with the fast-finishing Lolique, in his first start of the year, third for John Wagner.

Eric Ell trains Anders Bluestone for William Wood and Bill Dittmar, Jr.. Much of Wood’s portion of the purse goes to his benevolent “Wells for Ghana” project. The winner has won $686,400 in his career -- $67,900 of it in 2012.